One of the oldest buildings on St. Simons Island, the Tabby House is a favorite spot for special functions such as banquets, rehearsal dinners and luncheons (seating 40 persons), small receptions (serving 60 standing) and meetings.
Built circa 1806 as quarters for the servants of the Hamilton Plantation, the structure is considered a vital part of the history and culture of the area. It is one on only four remaining tabby cabins on the island.
The woodwork in this charming old house is of pecky pine with the floor made of old brick, which had been shellacked. The large fireplace is original.
Since being purchased by South Georgia Methodists in 1949, the house has undergone frequent renovation and used for various purposes such as a lounge, reading room and concession facility.
In danger of complete collapse in 1995, Epworth By The Sea restored the building as near as possible to its original status. Renowned tabby authority and craftsman, Mr. Renaldo Tate did the restoration.
Tabby material is a type of masonry formed by mixing oyster shells with sand and lime. The word tabby comes from the Spanish word "tapio" meaning much wall.